2 min read

Hey Igor, do you see many celebrities in LA?

I found myself in a hot tub with Justin Bieber once. True story, but don’t ask. I mean please don’t ask me that question.

This is a question I’m often faced with when I tell others I’m from Los Angeles. Not born, but raised here. I was just shy of two months and tightly wrapped in my grandmother’s handmade quilt when we arrived. Since then, I haven’t seen too many celebrities, sorry.

However, I’ve been lucky enough to witness a variety of entertaining responses to my answer. Some break out into song, failing to hit the right notes in Weezer’s “Beverly Hills, that’s where I wanna be”. Others begin speaking in neighborhoods, listing names in an enthusiastic effort to connect: “Oh yeah - Bel Air, Hollywood, Santa Monica!” Nod and smile, nod and smile.

I understand the excitement for visiting and living in one of the best places in the world. LA County has a population of over 10 million people, but how many of them are even celebrities? It’s unclear – the majority of us Angelenos almost never see them anyway. My question in response is – can I show you a different side of LA?

The LA that I know is shaped by the stories of countless immigrants. It’s where a taco in Boyle Heights changed my life. It’s where my own family found prosperity after a long journey over the Atlantic. And it’s where I’ve been fortunate enough to meet individuals that move LA forward: Jose, the guy slinging sandwiches at my local deli; Kara, the environmentalist selling bulk products out of her mobile refill station; and Tomas, the self-proclaimed “nerd herder” growing the LA tech community.

Before brushing shoulders with these A-listers, I started where many burgeoning actors begin: the bottom. Leaving Moldova (my birthplace) was not easy. It took years for my family to plan and prepare to emigrate. Through religious persecution, skeptical naysayers, a language barrier, and so much more, the odds were against us. Nevertheless, we insisted. My family and I touched-down at LAX with only a few $100 bills, but an endless amount of dedication. We leaned on others for help and bootstrapped our new lives to make ends meet. My mom studied and became a nurse; my dad took jobs as a handyman until he found a steady stream of work through self-employment. These were the skills they knew, and they found ways to leverage these skills to give us a better life. This is the quintessential immigrant story. And If I could give my family an Oscar for their performance, I would. They are, in my eyes, the most talented group of celebrities I’ve ever known.

There are so many of these stories told and retold by my LA neighbors. Today, LA County is home to 3.5 million immigrants. That’s over a third of the county’s total population! It’s these stories that make LA such a beautiful place to live. The LA that I know is a cultural escapade, and it’s a shame to not experience this part of it. The LA that I know is a diverse tech hub buzzing with big bets and entrepreneurial spirit. The LA that I know is reinventing itself to be better. For example, my neighborhood recently installed protected bike lanes to encourage cycling and help clean our air. So if being star-struck is that important to you, fine, ask away and I might recount a celebrity run-in or two. But if you want your mind blown by a tortilla, allow me to lead you on a culinary adventure through my city. I’m thrilled to be #LongLA, and to be a part of a community of immigrants, founders, and problem-solvers that make this place so special.

So next time, please ask me about this side of LA. Afterwards, I’ll tell you about Justin.